Graduate Award Winners


2019-2020 has been an academic year to remember for many innovations and accomplishments that demonstrate the excellence, impact, and agility of Northeastern graduate students. Congratulations to all of our winners!

Outstanding Graduate Student Awards
Aparna Alavilli (MS, Data Analytics Engineering) – Experiential
Molly Nebiolo (PhD, History) – Humanics
Maura Eaton (D, Physical Therapy) – Leadership
Jessica Faust (PhD, Mechanical Engineering) – Research
Matthew Hitchcock (PhD, English) – Teaching

Our graduate students have distinguished themselves across the country and around the world. Our winners of national and international awards from the past year include:

Jeryl Concepcion (EdD)Outstanding New Professional Award, National Association of Student Personnel Administrators, Region V
Amanda Dwyer (PhD, Marine & Environmental Sciences)John A. Knauss Marine Policy Fellowship, National Sea Grant College Program
John Ferrier (PhD, Physics)National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship
Tim Fraser (PhD, Political Science)Fulbright Fellowship
Kelsi Furman (PhD, Marine & Environmental Sciences)National Science Foundation Graduate Research Opportunities Worldwide program
Justin Haner (PhD, Political Science)James Madison Charitable Trust Archival Scholarship, Academic Association for Contemporary European Studies & Humane Studies Fellowship, Institute for Humane Studies at George Mason University (non-residency)
Katherine Hoemann (PhD, Psychology) Marie Curie Fellowship
Kathryn Hoyt (PhD, Chemical Engineering)Ford Foundation Fellowship
Laura Johnson (PhD, English)Workshop for Women Writers Project, Pacific Lutheran University
Cherice Jones (PhD, English)Research Initiative grant, Conference on College Composition and Communication
Lucianna Kiffer (PhD, Computer Science)Facebook Fellowship
Summer Marion (PhD, Political Science)Predoctoral Fellow, Harvard Humanitarian Initiative
Cara Marta Messina (PhD, English)Kairos Teaching Award
Carolina Mattsson (PhD, Network Science)National Science Foundation Graduate Research Internship Program
Jonathan Osborne (PhD, English)Diversity Scholars Fellowship, Ithaca College
Divya Parikh (MS, Biotechnology)Forbes Under 30 Scholar
Cherron Payne (DLP, Law & Policy)Fulbright Specialist Program
Maria Ann Robson (PhD, Political Science)Prestage-Cook Travel Award & Humane Studies Fellowship
Alexandria Will-Cole (PhD, Electrical Engineering)Department of Defense National Defense Science and Engineering Graduate Fellowship
Candence Wills (PhD, Criminal Justice Policy)Experiential Fellow, United Nations Office of Drug and Crime
Alexis Yohros (PhD, Criminal Justice Policy)Rappaport Institute Public Policy Fellowship, Harvard Kennedy School
Toshiaki Yoshida (PhD, Political Science)Japanese Language Text Mining Workshop, University of Chicago


Originally Published at Office of the Provost Website Read More